Bronze monuments dedicated on Tampa Riverwalk

Image 1 of 5

Tampa's Riverwalk was envisioned as a place for recreation and leisure, but with the addition of 30 bronze monuments, it's also become a connection to the city's past.

The newest six monuments were unveiled Friday at the Tampa Convention Center:

- Frank Adamo, M.D. - (1893 - 1988) medical doctor from Tampa; hero of Bataan Death March

- Elizabeth D. Barnard - (1881 - 1960) first woman postmaster of Tampa

- Ossian B. Hart - (1821 - 1874) Tampa attorney; governor of Florida

- Victoriano Manteiga - (1894 - 1982) lector in the cigar factories; founder of La Gaceta newspaper

- Benjamin Mays - (1894 - 1984) former head of the Tampa Urban League; distinguished career in the national civil rights movement

- Stephen M. Sparkman - (1849 - 1929) Attorney and Congressman from Tampa; headed the rivers and harbors committee and steered funding to Tampa for the initial improvement and dredging of a shipping channel through Hillsborough Bay to downtown Tampa

"They are the folks upon whose shoulders we stand," said Mayor Bob Buckhorn. "Many people don't know the history of Tampa and they don't know the history of these 30 individuals, and adding that to the Riverwalk was a great, great idea."