'Rebuild Florida' program offers additional funding for Irma victims

Image 1 of 4

There is a state-funded program aimed to help those still rebuilding after Hurricane Irma.  The Rebuild Florida program will be eligible to individuals and families living in all or parts of 14 counties flagged as having the most significant damage following the storm. 

The counties eligible for funding include all of Duval County along with portions of Bradford, Clay and Flagler counties in northeast Florida. In South Florida, the counties of Monroe, Broward, Collier, Lee, and Miami-Dade are eligible along with portions of DeSoto. In Central Florida, all of Brevard, Orange, Polk and Volusia counties are eligible.

Priority funding will go to low-income residents who are most vulnerable, including the elderly, those with disabilities and families with children ages 5 and younger.

A portion of funds will also go to help eligible individuals and families from Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands displaced by Hurricane Maria. 

Housing repairs are just the beginning for Rebuild Florida. State officials plan to eventually launch business recovery programs as well. 

To see if you qualify for assistance or to sign up, visit www.RebuildFlorida.gov.